The Fountain – "A passionate meditation on art wrapped in a hilarious sendup of artistic pretentions."

Kirkus [starred review]

NEW RELEASE

One drink.

And you can create an artistic masterpiece. Fame. Fortune. A legacy.

But shortly thereafter you may die.


Do you still drink? Maybe a sip.

Maybe a swish.

It’s just water, right?

A literary dramedy in the vein of Vonnegut, Palahuink, and Monty Python.

Have a drink and watch the trailer…

Check out what the readers are saying…

"DSH is a master of plot. This thing moves like a thriller. It is literally one of the best things I've read all year. Darkly funny… a howling success!”

Pinckney Benedict

Miracle Boy and Other Stories

"David Scott Hay has done a something incredible – an artful book about an arty subject that doesn't drop into pretension. 'Fountain' is an affecting story about tough, interesting people who hold beauty up like Achilles' shield against a very real, very bitter, and oddly funny world. A must for fans of sharp tongues and sharp writing."

Darren Callahan

City of Human Remains, The White Airplane & Horror Academy: Two Plays

“A truly unique and imaginative combination between Alan Ball, Raymond Chandler, Kafka, Walter Mosley, Elmore Leonard and even three fingers of Mickey Spillane.”

David Barr III

Black Ceasar, Red Death, The Face of Emmett Till

WHISKEY SLAVE | EAGLE SCOUT | WRITER

DSH

Makes a mean old fashioned and the best ribs on the block. He’s originally from OKC and lost the tip of a finger in a chop saw incident in the Windy City on his way to the City of Angels.

He now lives in a valley between the ocean, the mountains, and the desert with his wife, son, dog, chickens and a dozen typewriters.

DAVID_SCOTT_HAY_FICTION_AUTHOR_MIXOLOGY_SIGNATURE_COCKTAIL _RECIPE_THE_SAN_GRALADA
DSH Picks Your Poison – Mixology for the Author Life
What’s in the Drink Special? Experimental Mixology for the Author life. THE SAN GRALADA “Sometimes you just need something fruity and stupid.” I love pina coladas. I love sangria. Let’s …
FAVE FIVE BOOKS for Writing Novels (Writing Books for Beginners), David Scott Hay, author, writing tips, novelist, books, fiction, plot, storytelling, writing novels, professional writers
FAVE FIVE BOOKS – Level Up Your Writing
What’s in the drink special? The five best books on writing I’ve discovered to help you level up your craft as a serious writer. A must for any reference library.  …
Fuck you, Mamet!, David Scott Hay, David Mamet, grad school, MFA programs, playwright, screenwriter, filmmaker, Keanu Reeves, the one, the matrix
Fuck You, Mamet! To MFA or not to MFA (Part 2)
Drink special: Whether or not to pursue an MFA in writing. Based on the author following and then not following advice from Pulitzer-winner David Mamet. Part 2 of the grad …

"A passionate meditation on art wrapped in a hilarious sendup of artistic pretentions." Kirkus [starred review]

“DSH’s writing is witty, smart, and precise.” – Chicago Sun-Times

“This scribe has a great linguistic flair.” – Variety

“A wonderfully smart, inventive, and accomplished novel.” – Naeem Murr, Nude

“A mercurial talent.” – Jay Bonansinga, The Walking Dead novels

“Frankly, it's brilliant.” – Fred Leebron, Welcome to Christiania

Let's Keep in Touch

  • I’ll include hard earned tips for writing (fiction, stage/screen, comics).

  • Hollywood anecdotes from friends.

  • Sneak peeks and bonus material from current and upcoming projects.

  • And miscellaneous fun fuel such as book/tunes/booze recommendations.

Let's Keep in Touch

I’ll include hard earned tips for writing (fiction, stage/screen, comics). Hollywood anecdotes from friends. Sneak peeks and bonus material from current and upcoming projects. And misc fun fuel such as book, tunes, booze recommendations.

Let's Keep in Touch

I’ll include hard earned tips for writing (fiction, stage/screen, comics). Hollywood anecdotes from friends. Sneak peeks and bonus material from current and upcoming projects. And misc fun fuel such as book, tunes, booze recommendations.